• Northern Australia Defence Summit

    Hosted by the NT Government, this policy-driven event will look at the opportunities for Australia’s Defence industry in Northern Australia.

    2021 Dates TBC
    Delivered Virtually
    Darwin ACST/UTC+9.30

    BUY • ON-DEMAND   REGISTER YOUR INTEREST

Missed the event? View On-Demand

Enjoy full access to the event via On-Demand Playback for $395+GST

Watch all the presentations and Q&A sessions from the live event. Buy here.

Overview

9th Annual Northern Australia Defence Summit will be a high level policy-driven summit with a theme and focus on ‘Mobilising defence capability and force posture in Northern Australia’ that will examine key issues including: defence economics, strategic policy, implications from the white paper and first principles review, border protection and surveillance, US force posture initiatives, USMC bilateral exercises, engagement with regional partners, defence infrastructure and estate maintenance. The event will hear from ministers, defence officials, military commanders, industry leaders, prime contractors, defence SMEs, strategic analysts, academics and consultants.

Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Major Sponsor

Speakers


Colonel Leonard Rouwhorst
CSC, Director North – Capital Facilities & Infrastructure – Estate and Infrastructure Group (E&IG), Department of Defence


Steve Grzeskowiak
Deputy Secretary – E&IG, Department of Defence


Michael Gunner
Chief Minister of the Northern Territory


Ian Irving
CEO, Naval Shipbuilding College


Malcolm Davis
Senior Analyst, ASPI


Jason Miezio
Defence Sector Lead, Sitzler


CDRE Jonathan Earley
Director – General – USFPI & ASMTI, Department of Defence


Dr Robert McGregor
Assistant Secretary, Major Powers – International Policy Division, Department of Defence


The Hon Melissa Price MP
Minister for Defence Industry


COL John Papalitsas
Commander Regional Force Surveillance Group, Department of Defence


Jason Kite
Director of Military Sales, Australian Defence Export Office


Stephen Goodall
Chief Policy Officer, Chamber of Commerce NT (Former Team Leader Industry Engagement, Industry Skills Advisory Council NT)


Karen Green
Partner, Deloitte


Dr Alan Dupont AO
Northern Territory Defence & National Security Advocate, Northern Territory Government


CAPT Anthony Savage
Director OPVSPO and Transition Maritime Systems Division, Royal Australian Navy


Todd Tippett
Director – Patrol Boat Systems Program Office, Department of Defence


Chris Deeble
Chief Executive, Northrop Grumman Australia


Miranda Booth
Charles Darwin University


Assoc Prof Akhilesh Surjan
Charles Darwin University

Agenda

08:45 ACST
10:15 AEDT

Opening Remarks from the Chair

Jason Miezio, Defence Sector Lead, Sitzler

08:50 ACST
10:20 AEDT

KEYNOTE |Address from the Chief Minister

The Hon Michael Gunner MLA, Chief Minister, Northern Territory Government

09:05 ACST
10:35 AEDT

MINISTERIAL ADDRESS |

The Hon Melissa Price MP, Minister for Defence Industry

09:10 ACST
10:40 AEDT

Defence Infrastructure projects in Northern Australia

  • The current landscape and projects for the future
  • Major project developments
  • Construction industry involvement

Colonel Leonard Rouwhorst, CSC, Director North – Capital Facilities & Infrastructure – Estate and Infrastructure Group (E&IG), Department of Defence

09:40 ACST
11:10 AEDT

Implementation of Future Maritime Sustainment Model – an update for the North

CAPT Anthony Savage, Director OPVSPO and Transition Maritime Systems Division, Royal Australian Navy
Todd Tippett, Director – Patrol Boat Systems Program Office, Department of Defence

10:10 ACST
11:40 AEDT

Morning Break

10:40 ACST
12:10 AEDT

Triton in the NT

Chris Deeble, Chief Executive, Northrop Grumman Australia

11:00 ACST
12:30 AEDT

USFPI and Australian-Singapore Military Training Initiative

  • Increasing the international military presence in Northern Australia
  • How the current geopolitical situation demonstrates the regional significance of Northern Australia

CDRE Jonathan Earley, Director – General – USFPI & ASMTI, Department of Defence
Dr Robert McGregor, Assistant Secretary,  Major Powers – International Policy Division, Department of Defence

11:30 ACST
13:00 AEDT

Current Operations, the impact of COVID-19 and future plans of the Regional Force Surveillance Group

COL John Papalitsas, Commander Regional Force Surveillance Group, Department of Defence

11:55 ACST
13:25 AEDT

Northern Territory Defence Strategy

Dr Alan Dupont AO, Northern Territory Defence & National Security Advocate, Northern Territory Government

12:10 ACST
13:40 AEDT

Lunch break

13:00 ACST
14:30 AEDT

A look at Australian Defence Industry exports and how the current COVID-19 pandemic is having an impact now and in the future

Jason Kite, Director of Military Sales, Australian Defence Export Office

13:20 ACST
14:50 AEDT        

KEYNOTE | Update from E&IG

Steve Grzeskowiak, Deputy Secretary – E&IG, Department of Defence

13:50 ACST
15:20 AEDT

USFPI Training Ranges/P-8A Poseidon infrastructure

 Jason Miezio, Defence Sector Lead, Sitzler

14:10 ACST
15:40 AEDT

Afternoon Break

14:30 ACST
16:00 AEDT

Defence Force skilling in the North

  • A look at the work of the Naval Shipbuilding College since it commenced operations in  2018
  • The College’s role in building and skilling the workforce
  • Future aims and ambitions

Ian Irving, CEO, Naval Shipbuilding College

14:50 ACST
16:20 AEDT                          

Australia and Space – defence requirements coming out of the 2020 Defence Strategic Update

  • Key takeaways from the 2020 Strategic Update and Force Structure Plan – increased emphasis on sovereign capability, space domain awareness and assured space access
  • What that implies for Australian sovereign space responsive space launch including potential development in the NT
  • International Engagement in Defence and Space – the implications for the Northern Territory as a ‘space coast’
  • Strategic risk and Space for Australia

Malcolm Davis, Senior Analyst, ASPI

15:10 ACST
16:40 AEDT

Darwin Aviation Skills Centre

Stephen Goodall, Chief Policy Officer, Chamber of Commerce NT (Former Team Leader Industry Engagement, Industry Skills Advisory Council NT)
Karen Green, Partner, Deloitte

15.30 ACST
17:00 AEDT

Defence & Disaster Response

  • Defence and Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Response: The Northern Australian Context
  • CDU’s footprint, partnerships and offerings in Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Response

Miranda Booth, Charles Darwin University
Assoc Prof Akhilesh Surjan, Charles Darwin University

15.50 ACST
17:20 AEDT

End of Conference| Closing Remarks from the Chair

Jason Miezio, Defence Sector Lead, Sitzler

Pricing

Standard
$895

From 01 October

BOOK NOW
Company-Wide
$3465

Up to 50 participants from the same organization or Government Department

BOOK NOW

When & Where

28 October 2020

Delivered Virtually